X-ray spectroscopy

X-ray spectroscopy consists of three steps: (a) excitation to produce emission lines characteristic of the elements in the material, (b) measurement of their intensity, and (c) conversion of X-ray intensity to concentration by a calibration procedure which may include correction for matrix effects.
PAC, 1980, 52, 2541. 'Nomenclature, Symbols, Units and their Usage in Spectrochemical Analysis—IV X-Ray Emission Spectroscopy' on page 2544 (https://doi.org/10.1351/pac198052112541)